Elder Abuse Fatality Review Team (EAFRT)

Created in September 2020, the Elder Abuse Fatality Review Team (EAFRT) establishes a local team to review closed elder abuse cases that resulted in an individual’s death found to have been caused by, or related to, abuse or neglect. The team reviews cases in Clay, Duval, and Nassau counties and considers case facts that led to the fatal incident — this includes community resources, current laws and policies, and actions taken by systems or individuals.

The goal is to identify potential gaps or problems and develop approaches — including but not limited to recommending laws, rules, and policy changes — to address the causes of death.

State lawmakers in 2020 established legislation that was signed by Gov. Ron DeSantis that allowed judicial circuits to establish EAFRTs. The Fourth Judicial Circuit is the first in Florida to establish such a team, with the state attorney convening the first meeting in September 2020.

This dedicated web page will serve as the official page of the Fourth Circuit EAFRT and will be regularly updated with public notices for meetings, agendas, and any relevant material for the work of the local team.


The Honorable Gary Flower (co-chair), Duval County Courts
Linda Levin (co-chair), ElderSource
Farisha Hamid, Office of State Sen. Audrey Gibson
Tracie Rayfield, First Coast District Ombudsman Manager
Octavius Holliday, Fourth Judicial Circuit State Attorney’s Office
Teresa Miles, Women’s Center of Jacksonville
Eileen Rodden, Women’s Center of Jacksonville
Dr. Ronald Buchsbaum, Medical Examiner’s Office
Sgt. Gary Porter, Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office
Karen Murillo, Florida Attorney General’s Office
Paul Kellam, Adult Protective Services
Cindy Chambers, Office of Attorney General
Gloria Crawford, City of Jacksonville Senior Services Division
Randy Wyse, Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department
Jody Brandenburg, Hardage-Giddens Funeral Home
Patrick Vitellaro, Clay County Sheriff’s Office
Kristen Gonzalez, Baptist Medical Center
Renae Lewin, Fourth Judicial Circuit State Attorney’s Office
A.J. Mack, VyStar 
Robert Fultz, VyStar
Mike Jorgensen, Elder Law Attorney



The Elder Abuse Fatality Review Team will operate will operate pursuant to Florida’s “Sunshine” Law and, as such, will be open to the public. All meetings will be at 4 p.m. on the dates listed below, unless otherwise noted. If done in a physical location, the location will be published closer to the actual meeting. Public notices for any full or subcommittee meeting will be posted on this page at least 24 hours in advance of a meeting.  

The tentative dates of meetings is:

Jan. 10, 2022
Feb. 7, 2022
March 7, 2022
April 4, 2022
May 2, 2022

May 3, 2021
June 14, 2021
July 12, 2021
Aug. 16, 2021
Sept. 13, 2021
Oct. 4, 2021
Nov. 8, 2021
Dec. 6, 2021

Minutes and Documents

June 14, 2021

EAFRT 6/14/21 Minutes

EAFRT Meeting, Agenda Public Notice for June 14, 2021 

July 12, 2021

EAFRT Meeting, Agenda and Public Notice for July 12, 2021 

EAFRT Minutes for July 12, 2021

Aug. 16, 2021

EAFRT Meeting Public Notice, Agenda for Aug. 16, 2021

EAFRT Agenda Aug. 16, 2021

EARFT Minutes Aug. 16, 2021


Sept. 13, 2021

EAFRT Public Notice for Sept. 13, 2021

EAFRT Minutes for Sept. 13, 2021


Oct. 4, 2021

EAFRT Public Notice and Agenda for Oct. 4, 2021


Nov. 8, 2021

EAFRT Executive Committee Public Notice, Agenda for Nov. 8, 2021

EAFRT Minutes for Nov. 8, 2021


Dec. 6, 2021

EAFRT Public Notice, Agenda for Dec. 6, 2021

EAFRT Minutes for Dec. 6, 2021

EAFRT Public Records Request Dec. 1, 2021


Jan. 10, 2022

Public Notice, Agenda for Jan. 10, 2022




Annual Report Subcommittee

Eileen Rodden, Diane Clark, Cindy Chambers, Karen Murillo, Tracie Rayfield, A.J. Mack

This subcommittee comprises members who will work on information for the Department of Elder Affairs Annual Report required from the Elder Abuse Fatality Review Team. 


July 23, 2021 (Public Notice)
July 23, 2021 Minutes 

Aug. 6, 2021 (Public Notice)



File Review Subcommittee

Oct. 11, 2021 (Public Notice)

Nov. 15, 2021 (Public Notice)

Dec. 1, 2021 (Public Notice)
Dec. 1, 2021 Minutes 



Share This
Skip to content